top of page

Grasmere Academy has a Governing Body which ensures the school is securing the best possible provision and outcomes for every child. Governors meet regularly to review the school’s progress and to monitor plans for improvement. Governors come from all walks of life bringing their particular skills and experiences to the school.


The Academy also has a Board of Directors representing the academy sponsor: North Tyneside Academy Foundation. The sponsor’s Chief Executive sits on the school Governing Body.  Representatives from North Tyneside Learning Trust also sit on our Governing Body.

Grasmere Academy Governors and Sponsor

A welcome from the Chair of Governors

Welcome to the Governor section of the website

Governors come from all walks of life and our Governing Body is no different! We have Headteachers, Scientists, Accountants, Staff, Civil Servants, Self-employed people and most importantly Parents. To be a Governor all you have to do is give up your time to spend in School attending meetings and events. We have a full Governing Body meeting every half term to ensure the Academy runs smoothly, in addition we have Committee meetings to oversee Finance and Staffing matters, Quality, to ensure that all children in the Acadmey progress and achieve their full potential and Ethos to ensure that the spirit and character of the Academy remains intact.

It is a very rewarding role as you see the children flourish, grow and prepare themselves for their next adventure in life.


Lynn Goossens

Chair of Governors

Grasmere Academy Governors 23/24
David Baldwin             Founding
David Hodgson            Founding
Richard Carmichael      Founding
James Wilkinson          Founding

Trustees                   Type of Governor

Lynn Goossens          Community
Adam Rayner            Community
Richard Ludlow          Community
Joanne McKeown       Co-opted
Kerry Lilico                Headteacher
Richard Kielty            Local Authority
Hannah Girvan          Staff


Finance, Staffing & Premises

David Hodgson (Founding)

Lynn Goossens (Chair)

Kerry Lilico (Headteacher)

Hannah Girvan (Staff)

Adam Rayner (Community)

(NB: Staff Governors to withdraw for pay and appraisal issues)

Health & Safety and Safeguarding

Hannah Girvan (Staff) Chair

Kerry Lilico (Headteacher)

Richard Kielty (Local Authority)

Joanne McKeown (Co-opted)

Pupil Discipline

David Hodgson (Founding)

Lynn Goossens (Community)

Plus 1 x Governor


(NB: Headteacher can’t be a member and other members should withdraw if they have an interest to declare)



x 3 Governors selected as and when required, dependent upon availability/no prior knowledge of the specific issue


(NB: Staff Governors can’t be appointed to Staff Dismissal or Dismissal Appeals Committee)

Joint Quality with SMPS

Lynn Goossens (Community) Chair

David Baldwin (Founding)

Richard Ludlow (Community)

Kerry Lilico (Headteacher)

Performance Management

Lynn Goossens (Community)

David Hodgson (Founding)



Lynn Goossens (Community)

David Hodgson (Founding)

Kerry Lilico (Headteacher)


Governors/Headteacher with delegated responsibility for Staff Dismissal

Governors to be drawn from Staffing, Finance & Premises Committee where possible


(NB: Not the Headteacher when he/she is the subject of disciplinary procedures.  Staff Governors can’t be appointed to Staff Dismissal, or Dismissal Appeals Committee)


Committee Membership

bottom of page